home   |   awards   |   film   |   television 

  theatre   |   directing   |   live performance 

  documentary narration   |   music recordings 

  radio   |   voiceovers   |   other   |   upcoming 



A    C H R I S T M A S   C A R O L


Auckland Theatre Company

11 November-12 December 2004

Skycity Theatre


Jennifer Ward-Lealand directed A Christmas Carol for Auckland Theatre Company. It was based on the Dickens novel but adapted by Dave Armstrong into a Kiwi Christmas show.

" . . . it is crisp, smart and sharp in director Jennifer Ward-Lealand's hands." (Gilbert Wong, Sunday Star-Times, 21 Nov. 2004). "Auckland Theatre Company's production dispels the fog with a welcome blast of humour, vitality and music . . . it is difficult to imagine a better way to usher in the festive season". (Paul Simei-Barton, New Zealand Herald, 15 Nov. 2004).

Cast and crew: Mark Hadlow (Scrooge), Jackie Clark (Lorraine Cratchit), Bruce Hopkins (Bob Cratchit), Edward Giffney (Tiny Tim), Jonny Hair (Pete Cratchit), Morgan Reese Fairhead (Belinda Cratchit), Cameron Rhodes (Marley), Paul Barrett (Narrator), Hori Ahipene (Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future), Kate-Louise Elliot (Deirdre); with John Verryt (Designer), David Eversfield (Lighting Designer), and Grant Winterburn (Musical Director).


In its year-end review of Auckland theatre, the New Zealand Herald listed A Christmas Carol among the best:

"Dave Armstrong's adaptation of A Christmas Carol provides a fitting end to the year by showing it is possible to enjoy the festive season without wallowing in sentimentality or drowning in commercialism.

"Dickens' simple tale has a density that can support an enormous variety of interpretations and Armstrong was able to modernise the story without diluting the potency of the original.

"Director Jennifer Ward-Lealand delivered an exuberant production that captures the chaotic multicultural diversity of Auckland City".

Jonny Hair, Jackie Clark, Mark Hadlow,
Bruce Hopkins, Cameron Rhodes

Mark Hadlow as Scrooge
Edward Giffney as schoolboy

Kate-Louise Elliot as Deidre
Mark Hadlow as Scrooge

Kate-Louise Elliot as Deidre

Jackie Clark as Lorraine Cratchit, Bruce Hopkins as Bob Cratchit,
Edward Giffney as Tiny Tim, Kate-Louise Elliot as Deidre,
Mark Hadlow as Scrooge, Jonny Hair as Pete Cratchit,
Morgan Reese Fairhead as Belinda Cratchit

(photos: Andrew Malmo)

J E N N I F E R   W A R D - L E A L A N D   O F F I C I A L   W E B S I T E